About Us

The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation that exists to raise supplementary funds for the Fairfax County Public Library and is committed to its mission statement of seeking financial gifts from individuals, organizations, foundations, businesses and corporations who have a vested interest in the quality of life of Fairfax County while encouraging continued and increased public tax-based support for the library.

Mission Statement

Fairfax Library Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable and educational organization committed to providing supplementary support to the Fairfax County Public Library. The Foundation, while reinforcing the need for continued and increased public support for the Library, serves as a catalyst for attracting private funding from individuals, businesses, organizations and foundations to enhance library services for our community


Our offices are located in the Fairfax County Government Center, Suite 329.

Fairfax Library Foundation

12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 329

Fairfax, VA 22035




Please follow these links to learn more

A Letter from Our Board Chair

2016 Annual Report

Financial Statements, 2016

2015 Annual Report

Financial Statements, 2015

Form 990, 2015

Articles of Incorporation

Foundation Staff

Susan C. Harman, Executive Director

Shelby Allen, Finance and Data Base Assistant

Peggy Blanchet, Data Base and Finance Assistant

James Hill, Data Base Assistant

Foundation Board of Directors

The Foundation’s Board is composed of community leaders from the private and public sectors who donate their time, talents, and expertise to the Foundation’s goals. The Board may have a maximum of 30 Directors who may serve up to two three-year terms. Please find Director biographies here.

Foundation Board Officers


Brian Engler, Friends of the Burke Centre Library

Vice Chair

Richard W. Peterson, Friends of the Richard Byrd Library


Kathleen M. Flaherty, Matthews, Carter and Boyce, P.C.


Tejas Patel, Boy Scouts of America          


Xande Anderer, Citizen X Design

Ravi Bansal, TechStratium

Brownell Combs, Deloitte & Touche, LLP

Mike Cullen, Baker Tilly

Matthew Evans, Access National Bank

Charles Fegan, Columbia Lighthouse for the Blind (retired);

Ilyse Gart, Friends of the Burke Centre Library

Duwain Ketch, Friends of Burke Centre and Kings Park

Frances Millhouser, Fairfax County Public Library (retired)

Mary Jo Patterson, Technology Student Association (consultant)

Patricia S. Reed, Reed Strategies, LLC

Mike Reyes, Merrill Lynch

Sara Wachspress, Internal Revenue Service (retired)

Frank Whittington, George Mason University

Jayne Young, Shepherd’s Center of Oakton-Vienna (retired)

Ex-Officio Directors

Jessica A. Hudson, Director, Fairfax County Public Library

Michael S. Donovan, Chair, FCPL Board of Trustees

Will Jasper, Representative, FCPL Board of Trustees

Susan C. Harman, CFRE, Executive Director

Foundation Advisory Board

Chair: Kate Hanley


Please find Board of Advisors biographies here.

James Corcoran, Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce
Patrick J. Dexter
Dr. Gerald L. Gordon, Fairfax County Economic Development Authority
Martin C. Faga, MITRE
Dr. Binh Nguyen, F.C.C.P., Walter Reed National Military Medical Center